Print Friendly and PDFPrint Friendly

Special Services

Special Services

Students are our Focus...
Special Services is based in the Education Services Center and is led by Director Lori Fildes. The department of Special Services is responsible for providing support to students with a variety of special needs through a wide range of specialized services and educational programs.
 
Special Services is responsible for the following programs:
  • Special Education K-12
  • Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) Birth-K
  • English Learner Program (EL)
  • Translation services
  • District Health Services
  • Section 504
  • Pre-school screening
  • Homebound Education
The Total Special Education System (TSES) is a summary of the District's policy and procedures related to special education services. To review the TSES for Wayzata Public Schools, please click here TSES.
 
Wayzata Public Schools is required to post the restrictive procedure (RP) plan for any school or program implementing RP's. To review the RP plan for Wayzata Public Schools, please click here. Also included below is a link to a mental health resource available to parents of children experiencing mental health challenges and a link to the resources section of the Special Services Department Website which has additional resources for mental health services and more.
 
Minnesota Association for Children' Mental Health
651-644-7333
800-528-4511
 
Special Services Office Structure
Lori Fildes, Director 763-745-5040 lori.fildes@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Bonnie Johnson, Supervisor 763-745-5041 bonnie.johnson@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Lori Thomas, Supervisor 763-745-6663 lori.thomas@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Robin Henslin, Supervisor 763-745-5042 robin.henslin@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Jeri Johnson, Supervisor 763-745-5062 jeri.johnson@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Jen Welk, Office Manager 763-745-5044 jennifer.welk@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Jodie Otten, Secretary 763-745-5033 jodie.otten@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Caroline Gossen, Secretary 763-745-5043 caroline.gossen@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Kelly Ripley, Secretary High School 763-745-6665 kelly.ripley@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Penny Blankenship, Office Assistant 763-745-5255 penny.blankenship@wayzata.k12.mn.us
 
Administrative Support
Birchview Jeri Johnson
Greenwood Jeri Johnson
Gleason Lake Jeri Johnson
Kimberly Lane
Bonnie Johnson
Plymouth Creek Jeri Johnson
Oakwood Bonnie Johnson
Sunset Hill Bonnie Johnson
Central Middle Jeri Johnson
East Middle Jeri Johnson
West Middle Bonnie Johnson
High School Lori Thomas
Early Childhood Robin Henslin
 
Other Special Services Areas
District Health Services Lori Fildes
Title I & III Lori Fildes
English Learner Lori Fildes (Ann Fehrenbach)
Section 504 Lori Fildes
HomeBound Lori Thomas (High School) and Bonnie Johnson (K-8)
Transition Services Lori Thomas
Professional Development Jeri Johnson
New Para Employee Training Caroline Gossen
CPI Lori Fildes (Kristina Lybeck)
Restrictive Procedures Lori Fildes (Kristina Lybeck)
Homeless Jennifer Welk
Transportation Shared support–changes weekly (Jodie Otten)
MA Billing Jennifer Welk (Teresa Rome)
SPED Evaluation Team Lori Thomas
Occupational Therapy Bonnie Johnson
Assistive Technology Bonnie Johnson (Carole Ries–Assistive Technology)
Speech Bonnie Johnson
Adapted Physical Education Jeri Johnson
Program Support Specialist Jeri Johnson (Deb West, Amy Vollendorf, Peggy Hirschuber, Adrienne Lewis)
Psychologist/Social Workers (Mental Health) Lori Fildes
Feedback
CLOSE